Election Information

On the second Tuesday in November of every even-numbered year, the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder conducts elections for the City. At this election, Lawndale voters elect a Mayor, members of the City Council, a City Clerk, and may also vote on City measures. All City offices are non-partisan. Since the City's election is combined with the Statewide general election, Lawndale voters may also elect their representatives to Federal, State, County, District offices, and may vote on measures.

To be elected to a City office, a person must be a U.S. Citizen who is 18 years of age or older, be Lawndale residents and registered to vote in Lawndale. State laws govern election campaigns. For further information, feel free to contact the City Clerk Department at (310) 973-3200.

NOVEMBER 5, 2024

The City of Lawndale's General Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, November 5, 2024, for the following offices:
  • Mayor for a full-term of two (2) years
  • Two (2) City Council Members for a full term of four (4) years


 Notice of Election  

Notice of Nominees 

  • English
  • Spanish
  • Korean
  • Vietnamese


Campaign Disclosure Statements

Nomination Process
The nomination period for these offices begins on Monday, July 15, 2024, and closes on Friday, August 9, 2024, at 5:00 p.m. If an incumbent does not file, then the nomination period for that office is extended to Wednesday, August 14, 2024.
Nomination documents will be available on the first day of the nomination period, Monday, July 15, 2024, through the last day of the nomination period, Friday, August 9, 2024. 

Nomination documents must be filed with the City Clerk’s Office no later than 5:00 p.m. on Friday, August 9, 2024. There is a $25 candidate nomination fee due at time of filing. An appointment is requested during the nomination period. Please call to make an appointment: (310) 973-3213.

The City Clerk’s Office hours are Monday through Thursday, 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., closed every Friday. On Friday, August 9, 2024, the City Clerk’s Office will be open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

General Municipal Election Resolutions

2024 General Municipal Election Calendar



24-Hour Secure Ballot Drop-Off Box
The City hosts an official ballot drop-off box located at Hogan Park, 16605 Osage Avenue, Lawndale. The drop-box is a yellow and white metal container located on the sidewalk in front of the park’s entrance. Voters can return their ballots to this drop-box 24 hours a day; Saturday, September 28, 2024 through Saturday, November 9, 2024.

You can track your vote-by-mail ballot every step of the way by subscribing to receive real-time tracking notifications by text, email, or voicemail by registering on wheresmyballott.sos.ca.gov. 
If you have questions about the drop-off box, please call 800-815-2666, then choose option 2. You may also email [email protected] or go to LAvote.gov. 


City Elected Officials

Elective offices are: 1) A Mayor whose term is two years, 2) four Councilmembers, each elected for four-year terms on a staggered schedule, and 3) a City Clerk whose term is four years.

Current Officials and Their Terms of Office

Office  Incumbents  Term Expiration
 Mayor  Robert Pullen-Miles  November 2024
 City Councilmember  Pat Kearney  November 2026
 City Councilmember  Bernadette Suarez  November 2026
 City Councilmember  Rhonda Hofmann Gorman  November 2024
 City Councilmember  Sirley Cuevas  November 2024
 City Clerk  Erica Harbison (Elected)  November 2026

Site Powered by: Civiclive © 2004-2024